Trash - for System operators

From Sense/Net Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 100%
  • 6.0
  • Enterprise
  • Community
  • Planned

Overview

The Trash Bin is a built-in feature of Sense/Net ECMS. It is a central place for deleted documents, lists or workspaces where you can browse, restore or delete contents permanently. Visit the main Trash Bin page to see all aspects of this feature. As an administrator, you can configure the behavior of the Trash Bin and the folders and lists according to your needs.

Details

Trash Bin options

You can edit the Trash Bin options on the Trash Bin settings page. You can get there by clicking on the Settings link in the Settings menu.

Trash Bin settings

Enable/disable the trash feature globally

If the trash is enabled in the system, deleted content can be moved to the Trash Bin. You can find them on the path /Root/Trash.

If you disable the trash, previously deleted content won't disappear, you or the owner can restore them freely. Content deleted with disabled trash will be removed permanently from the database.

Set the retention time of deleted contents

The value set here is the days the content should stay in the trash before deleting it permanently. If the value is greater than 0, users (or any automatism) cannot remove the content from the trash before the expiration date. Changing this value does not effect previously deleted content.

Set the size of the Trash Bin

The size quota is the amount of content in megabytes that can be stored in the trash. This value is only a UI hint, it does not effect deleting content. If the size is exceeded the Trash Bin main page will display a message about how much space is used. The administrator should take care of purging content from the trash manually.

Trash Bin size quota

Set Trash Bag capacity

If you provide a number greater than 0 as the Trash Bag capacity, only containers having a smaller number of children can be moved to the trash at the same time. This setting effects only one delete operation. In case this setting prevents you to delete a big subtree you can still delete those content one-by-one.

Enable/disable the trash feature on a container

You can enable or disable the trash feature on almost any container content. By default, the feature is enabled and deleted content go to the trash. You can change this on the Edit page of any folder or list. This setting effects only the container (list, workspace) you edit, and not the child folders.

Please note that there are some content types that cannot be deleted using the Trash - e.g. users or groups. For more info see the Trash - for Developers article.


Empty the trash

You can delete all the content stored in the trash permanently. On the Trash Bin main page you can see an Empty button in the header of the trashed items list. By pressing it, you get a dialogue page where you can dispose all the items.

Remove all items

Related links

References

There are no external references for this article.